font size:A+

Brief Introduction


A Brief Introduction to the Macau Catholic Diocese

 

The Catholic Diocese of Macau was erected on 23 January 1576 by Pope Gregory XIII through the Bull super Specula Militantis Ecclesiae, the first diocese created in the Far East in modern times.  The earliest diocese in the Far East – the archdioceseof Beijing – was erected in China in the year 1307, during the reign of the Yuan Emperor Chengzong.  Then in 1313, during the reign of Yuan Emperor Renzong, the Diocese of Quanzhou in Fookien was established.  In spite of the vigor of the two diocese, the work there stalled unfortunately because of lack of missionaries to continue the mission.

 

In the early years, the Macau Diocese was responsible for a wide swath of Asia, including China, Korea, Japan, Tonkin (North Vietnam), and the islands around the continental Far East. 

 

Saint Catherine of Siena and St. Francis Xavier were the patron saints of the Macau Diocese since the beginning, thus highlighting the missionary character of the territory.  But aside from spreading the Gospel, she also had to promote scientific exchange and moral uprightness; thus, the Diocesan motto “Scientia et Virtus” (knowledge and virtue). 

 

The first Apostolic Administrator of the Diocese was Father Melchior Carneiro, S.J.  He founded the Macau Holy House of Mercy, the Saint Raphael Hospital, and the Leprosarium near the present San Lazarus Church.  The Jesuits had already established themselves in Macau in 1565, and had also opened a College.  At the end of the 16th centrury their school had been recognized as a university.  Their church would be gutted by fire twice.  What remained of the 1835 fire in now the famed Ruins of Saint Paul. 

 

Aside from the Jesuits, the Franciscans, the Augustinians, the Dominicans and the cloistered nuns of Saint Clare (Poor Clares) also established themselves in Macau during the 16th and 17th centuries. 

 

Just after the establishment of the Diocese of Macau, it became the jump-off point from missionaries going to different parts of the Far East.  After 400 years, the different areas administered by the diocese have grown and developed into more than 100 autonomous circumscriptions.  The presnt scope of the Diocese of Macau covers the territory of Macau, with six parishes, three quasi-parishes 31 educational establishments, 23 social service institutions.  Moreover, it runs a Social Communication Centre, publishing outfits and pastoral centers.  There are 81 priests in the Diocese, 29 brothers, 199 religious sisters, and around 30,000 lay faithful. 



go to top

字體大小:A+

天主教澳門教區


澳門教區於1576年1月23日,由教宗額我略十三世頒發《Super Specula Militantis Ecclesiae》詔書批准成立,成為近代遠東第一個主教區。遠東最早成立的主教區,是公元1307年我國元成宗時,在北京成立的總主教區。其次是1313年元仁宗時,在福建成立的泉州教區。兩教區的教務曾蓬勃一時,惜因傳教士後繼無人而停頓。

澳門教區成立初期,負責傳教的地區極廣,包括中國、朝鮮、日本、東京(即現今的北越地區),以及遠東大陸鄰近島嶼。

澳門教區自建立伊始,奉聖女加大肋納瑟納Catarina de Senna和聖方濟各沙勿略Francisco Xavier為主保,以宣示澳門傳教士獨特氣質,就是除了傳播基督福音以外,還致力促進科學交流和推崇道德,以科學與道德”Scientia et Vitus”為教區座右銘。

澳門教區首位署理主教是耶穌會士賈耐勞Melchior Carneiro S.J.。他創辦本澳的仁慈堂、聖辣法厄爾醫院(俗稱白馬行醫院)、和痳瘋病人收容所(即現在望德堂一帶)。耶穌會士於1565年已在本澳設立會院和開辦學院。到16世紀末,該學院的專上程度獲得歐洲大學承認;他們的聖堂曾兩次毁於火災,1835年大火遺跡,就是現在的大三巴牌坊。

除耶穌會外,方濟會、奧斯定會、道明會和度隱修生活的聖嘉辣女修會,都曾先後在16、17世紀,於本澳設立了會院。

澳門教區剛成立時,澳門是許多修會傳教士前往遠東所有傳教區的基地。四百年來,澳門教區轄下各地區教務日漸成長,相繼自立,先後成立了一百個以上的獨立教區。現在,澳門教區的實際範圍,只局限於澳門本埠,共擁有堂區6個,3個準堂區,教育機構31間,社會福利服務機構23間。此,還有社會傳播、出版事業及牧靈服務等多所機構。在教區內現有神父81人,修士29人,修女的199人,教友約3萬人。



回最頂